Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design

The George Matsumoto Prize is North Carolina's highest honor exclusively for Modernist residential architecture. NCModernist created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University's College of Design. Matsumoto created some of North Carolina's most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses.The Matsumoto Prize encourages architects, designers, and prospective clients to continue the Modernist movement in houses so important to North Carolina's design heritage. The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.

Sponsored in 2023 by

Jury Winners:

1st place: Steel Louise, SILO AR+D / Marc Manack, Charlotte

2nd Place, Hensley House, Laura Hudson, Asheville


3rd Place, Cabin House, Rusafova Markulis, Asheville

People's Choice Winners:

1st Place, Robbins/Frame House, Kersting Architects, Raleigh 

2nd Place, Center Grove, STITCH Design Shop, Greensboro

3rd Place, Forever Home, Distinctive Architecture/Bill Waddell, Durham

The 2023 George Matsumoto Prize Jury: 

Angie Brooks FAIA / Mina Chow FAIA / Inga Saffron / Fred Bernstein / Myron Goldfinger FAIA / Steven Ehrlich FAIA