Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design

Sponsored by: 

Chappell_Powered By Compass_Logo_Black (2).png 

The George Matsumoto Prize is North Carolina's highest honor exclusively for Modernist residential architecture. NCModernist created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University's College of Design. Matsumoto created some of North Carolina's most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses.The Matsumoto Prize encourages young architects, designers, and prospective clients to continue the Modernist movement in houses so important to North Carolina's design heritage. The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.

Past jurors include Cathleen McGuigan, Marica McKeel, Jim Jennings, Michela Abrams, Martin Voelkel, Hilary Lewis, Barry Bergdoll, Takashi Yanai, Toshiko Mori, Alan Hess, Stella Betts, Harry Wolf, Paul Goldberger, Annabelle Selldorf, Jane Frederick, Tom Phifer, Edward Lalonde, Kristen Ring Murray, Michelle Addington, Deborah Berke, Alexandra Lange, Carl Abbott, Ron Radziner, Tom Kundig, Frank Harmon, Robert Miller, Jeanne Gang, Eric Gartner, Joshua Prince-Ramus, Alison Brooks, Nathan Crowley, Marlon Blackwell, Larry Scarpa, David Jameson, Harry Bates, Helena Arahuete, Maryann Thompson, Brion Jeannette, Peter Gluck, Bev Thorne, and Ray Kappe.

The 2022 Jury Winners are:


1st Place: Domeck House, Chapel Hill, ThoughtCraft (Jason Hart)

2nd Place: Hill House, Asheville, Matthew Pavelchak

3rd Place: Carrboro Hillside House, Carrboro, POD (Doug Pierson and Youn Choi)


The 2022 Public Voting Winners are:

1st Place: Hancock House, Winston-Salem, STITCH

2nd Place: Clear Blue, Wrightsville Beach, Kersting Architecture

3rd Place: Garden On Eden, Chapel Hill NC, Keith Shaw

The 2022 George Matsumoto Prize Jury:

Gisue Hariri / Myron Goldfinger / Danita Brown / Marianne McKenna

Robert Ivy / Max Strang 

   2022 Entries