Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design

Powered by Nichiha

The George Matsumoto Prize is North Carolina's highest honor exclusively for Modernist residential architecture.NCModernist created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University's College of Design. Matsumoto created some of North Carolina's most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses.The Matsumoto Prize encourages young architects, designers, and prospective clients to continue the Modernist movement in houses so important to North Carolina's design heritage.

The 2020 George Matsumoto Prize Jury
Image result for Toshiko Mori
Toshiko Mori FAIA
Toshiko Mori Architects
 Image result for barbara bestor faia
Barbara Bestor FAIA
Bestor Architecture

Stella Betts

Annabelle Selldorf FAIA
Selldorf Architects
Image result for hugh kaptur
Hugh Kaptur FAIA
Palm Springs CA

Alan Hess
Modernist Historian

Harry Wolf FAIA
Wolf Architecture

Past jurors include Harry Wolf, Paul Goldberger, Jane Frederick, Tom Phifer, Edward Lalonde, Kristen Ring Murray, Michelle Addington, Deborah Berke, Alexandra Lange, Carl Abbott, Ron Radziner, Tom Kundig, Frank Harmon, Robert Miller, Jeanne Gang, Eric Gartner, Joshua Prince-Ramus, Alison Brooks, Nathan Crowley, Marlon Blackwell, Larry Scarpa, David Jameson, Harry Bates, Helena Arahuete, Maryann Thompson, Brion Jeannette, Peter Gluck, Bev Thorne, and Ray Kappe. The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.