Enjoy browsing, but unless otherwise noted, these houses are private property and closed to the public -- so don't go tromping around uninvited!
CTRL-F to Search Within Page


Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design
Supported by the McAdams Foundation

2016 Matsumoto Prize Jury Awards

1st - 123 Hillcrest, Will Alphin, Raleigh

2nd - Corbett Residence, Erin Sterling Lewis and Matt Griffith, Bahama

3rd - Medlin Residence, Erin Sterling Lewis and Matt Griffith, Raleigh

2016 People's Choice Awards

1st - Blauhaus, Adam Sebastian, Winston-Salem

2nd - 123 Hillcrest, Will Alphin, Raleigh

3rd - Ciel 10, Jason Weil, Asheville

2016 Matsumoto Prize Jury
Ray Kappe, Los Angeles
Alison Brooks, London
Joshua Prince-Ramus, New York

Harry Wolf, Los Angeles
Charles McMurray, Miami
Nathan Crowley, Los Angeles

Other Submissions

Moore House, Asheville, designed by Rob Carlton

Farahany/Loder House, Durham, designed by Phil Szostak

Monroe House, Bahama, designed by Katherine Hogan and Vinny Petrarca

Sillings Farmhouse, Wake Forest, designed by Matt Griffith and Erin Sterling Lewis

Surf Gallery, Wrightsville Beach, designed by Michael Ross Kersting

Hungry Neck, Raleigh, designed by Craig Kerins

Inline image 10
Bartelt House, Raleigh, designed by Nick Hammer

Chick/Cornell House, Raleigh, designed by Charles Holden

515 Residence, Asheville, designed by SPARC Design

Mackey Mitchell, Asheville