Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design

The George Matsumoto Prize is North Carolina's highest honor exclusively for Modernist residential architecture.  NCMH created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University's College of Design. Matsumoto created some of North Carolina's most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses. The Matsumoto Prize encourages young architects, designers, and prospective clients to continue the Modernist movement in houses so important to North Carolina's artistic leadership. 

Past jurors include Paul Goldberger, Edward Lalonde, Deborah Berke, Alexandra Lange, Carl Abbott, Ron Radziner, Tom Kundig, Frank Harmon, Robert Miller, Jeanne Gang, Eric Gartner, Joshua Prince-Ramus, Alison Brooks, Nathan Crowley, Marlon Blackwell, Larry Scarpa, David Jameson, Harry Bates, Harry Wolf, Helena Arahuete, Maryann Thompson, Brion Jeannette, Peter Gluck, Bev Thorne, and Ray Kappe.
The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.

The 2019 George Matsumoto Prize Jury

Jane Frederick FAIA
Frederick and Frederick
2020 AIA President

Tom Pfifer FAIA
Thomas Pfifer and Partners

Michelle Addington
Dean, University of Texas Austin School of Architecture

Kirsten Ring Murray FAIA

Harry Wolf FAIA
Wolf Architecture

Kelly Lynch

Neutra/Lautner Homeowner

2019 George Matsumoto Prize Rules, Terms, and Conditions

Submissions open January 1, 2019

1. The Prize is open to anyone with primary design responsibility for a completely built, from-the-ground-up, single-family Modernist house of at least 800 heated sf with a CO on or after January 1, 2014. The house must be in North Carolina; the designer/architect can be from anywhere. Renovations, additions, multi-family, or any house that won a past Matsumoto Prize Jury or People's Choice award are ineligible. Past submissions that did not win either Jury or People's Choice awards may be resubmitted.

2. There are no educational or licensure requirements for submission. Your design stands for itself. You may submit more than one house but you cannot win more than one prize per category. If you have a disagreement with another person or firm concerning credit for a house design, get it worked out or consider submitting jointly.

3. Jury Awards: $2,000 first place, $1,000 second place, $500 third place, plus a nice trophy for each. The Jury, named above, will choose one house per cash Prize honor. There will be no ties. None of the Jury or their firms or employees may submit. There will only be one Jury Prize awarded per firm/designer/architect.

4. There are three People's Choice awards, selected by the public through online voting, limited to one vote per e-mail address. Addresses that are or appear to be machine-generated or fraudulent will not be counted. However, if people want to vote more than once, say from a home email and a work email, that's fine. NCMH's decisions on vote eligibility are final. Vote counts will not be released; only the recipients of 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place.

5. Contacting any of the named Jury is strictly prohibited; however, submitters are actively encouraged to publicize their participation in the Matsumoto Prize through email and social media, including asking friends, family, clients, prospects, and the public to vote.

6. NCMH reserves the exclusive right to accept, edit, or reject any information, image, video, or other submission component for accuracy, appropriateness, style, size, or length; or for compliance with these rules, terms and conditions. If a submission is rejected, payment will be refunded. Houses may not be submitted anonymously and/or without an address and owner.

7. By paying the entry fee, you agree to all the terms and conditions on this page; you have secured rights to use any submitted images, video, or audio; you have secured permission from the homeowners to submit their house; and you agree that images and video may appear at NCMH's website and social media.

2019 Matsumoto Prize Submission Requirements

a. Submit a non-refundable entry fee of $179 per house via PayPal to george@ncmodernist.org or mail payment to NCMH, 5409 Pelham Road, Durham NC, 27713.

b.  Via email to leslieakingery@gmail.com and george@ncmodernist.org, submit the working name of the house, homeowner name and project address, architect/designer contact info, builder contact info; a headshot JPG of the architect/designer, and a PDF of the Certificate of Occupancy verifying house completion on or after 1/1/2014.

c.  Via a free transfer service for large files such as www.wetransfer.com, sent to leslieakingery@gmail.com, submit up to 15 images/photos in 72dpi (optimal website resolution) in JPG format only. Do not submit PDF or any other format. Images must include:

1. at least one site plan
2. photo elevations from all sides if possible (not renderings)
3. a floor plan
4. at least four interior photos
5. at least five exterior photos
6. a north arrow on each site plan

d.  Submit a two-minute or less video about the house, the client, their needs, the process to meet those needs, you, your firm, or any combination of these elements. Submit in MP4 format. Please don't overproduce the video; keep it simple. Filming with a cell phone or tablet will be fine. People want to hear your design journey with the house and the client.  Upload the video to your firm's Vimeo or YouTube page then email the video link to leslieakingery@gmail.com.

Helpful Hints:  Images may include text but be sure the text can be read easily on a tablet/Ipad; members of the Jury and the public will likely use these devices to view your submission. Please check that your images are readable on a mobile device.  This can be as simple as uploading them to your website and then viewing from your phone. We recommend using images that are between 1500 and 2500 pixels wide as they resize most easily for all formats including mobile devices. 

Deadline: Submissions due by 5pm EST May 1, 2019. 
The George Matsumoto Prize Awards will be held July 2019 at McConnell Studios, 324 Dupont Circle, in Raleigh NC.