Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design
Supported in 2017 by The McAdams Foundation

2017 Jury Winners

WEST CHAPEL- Brickstack Architects

1st - Scott Huebner, of Asheville, for the West Chapel House, $3000

BALAKRISHNAN - CUBE design +research

2nd - Jason Hart, of Chapel Hill, for the Balakrishnan House, $2000

HAMMOCK HOUSE - Samsel Architects

  3rd - Duncan McPherson, of Asheville, for the Hammock House, $1000

People’s Choice Winners, voted on by the public

RUN ASHORE - Michael Ross Kersting Architecture, PA
#1 -
Michael Ross Kersting, of Wilmington, for the Run Ashore House

HUNGRY NECK - The Raleigh Architecture Company

- Craig Kerins, of Raleigh, for the Hungry Neck House

SCANDINAVIAN - B + O design studio

#3 - Scott Odgen, of Wilmington, for the SCANDINAVIAN House

All 2017 Entries, Photos, and Videos

The George Matsumoto Prize for North Carolina Modernist residential architecture is a unique design competition featuring $6,000 in awards, a blue-ribbon jury of internationally-known architects, critics, and designers, and online public voting. 

NCMH created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University's College of Design. Matsumoto created some of North Carolina's most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses. The Matsumoto Prize provides motivating honors and incentives for a new generation of architects; contributes to wider public recognition of Modernism in all its forms (architecture, art, furniture, and fashion); and recognizes the significant economic and aesthetic impact of Modernist design across North Carolina.

The Matsumoto Prize is the only juried architecture competition in North Carolina that focuses exclusively on Modernist houses, provides financial awards, involves a national jury plus public voting, and connects to a major architectural archive. The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.

The Matsumoto Prize encourages designers, architects, owners, and builders to continue the Modernist movement in houses so important to North Carolina's artistic leadership.  Past jurors include Tom Kundig, Marlon Blackwell, Larry Scarpa, Frank Harmon, Jeanne Gang, Eric Gartner, Joshua Prince-Ramus, Alison Brooks, Nathan Crowley, David Jameson, Harry Bates, Harry Wolf, Helena Arahuete, Maryann Thompson, Brion Jeannette, Peter Gluck, Bev Thorne, and Ray Kappe.   

The 2017 Matsumoto Prize Jury

Carl Abbott FAIA
Carl Abbott Architect

Paul Goldberger HAIA

Curt Fentress FAIA RIBA, Fentress Architects

Ron Radziner FAIA
Marmol Radziner

Harry Wolf FAIA

Wolf Architecture

Robert Miller FAIA
Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Other Entries:


 PISTOL - Pete Fala

EUCLID - Louis Cherry

 EUCLID - Louis Cherry

HORSESHOE FARM- Buildsense Architecture



 PIEDMONT RETREAT - Katherine Hogan

PINE STREET - Sophie Piesse

 PINE STREET - Sophie Piesse

1107 FAIRVIEW- ADH Interiors 

1107 FAIRVIEW Alicia Hylton-Daniel

554 EDENTON ST - The Raleigh Architecture Company

 554 EDENTON ST - Robby Johnston

TAYLOR RESIDENCE - in situ studio

 TAYLOR RESIDENCE - Erin Sterling Lewis and Matt Griffith

PROFESSOR'S HOUSE - Arielle Schechter

 PROFESSOR'S HOUSE - Arielle Schechter

MCDOLE- Beacon Architecture

 McDole House - Chris Nason

Wainscott House - Adam Sebastian, STITCH Design Shop