Architecture You Love


Recognizing Excellence in North Carolina Modernist Residential Design

The George Matsumoto Prize for North Carolina Modernist residential architecture is a unique design competition featuring $6,000 in awards, a blue-ribbon jury of internationally known architects and designers, and online public voting.  NCMH created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 honor of George Matsumoto FAIA, one of the founding faculty members of North Carolina State University's School of Design who designed some of North Carolina's most well-known and well-loved Modernist houses.  The Matsumoto Prize is the only juried architecture competition in North Carolina that focuses exclusively on Modernist houses, provides financial awards, involves a national jury plus public voting, and connects to a major architectural archive.  The Prize meaningfully and powerfully engages the public with the architecture they love and showcases exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina.  The 2015 Prize was underwritten by Leland Little Auctions.

The 2015 Winners

 AIYYER RESIDENCE - Cube Design & Research    CLARK HOUSE - in situ studio
Jury 1st Place - $3,000 - The Aiyyer House, Carrboro, by Jason Hart of CUBE Design+Research Jury 2nd Place - $2,000 - The Crabill House, Hillsborough, Vinny Petrarca and Katherine Hogan of Tonic Design and Construction Jury 3rd Place - $1,000 - Clark Court, Raleigh, by Erin Sterling Lewis and Matt Griffith of in situ studio
 WATERLINE - Kersting Architecture  PEREGRINE 6 - Roost  KNIGHT|HOWARD HOME - Ann Clark Architect
People's Choice 1st Place - Waterline, Wrightsville Beach, by Michael Ross Kersting and Toby Keeton  People's Choice 2nd Place - Peregrine 5, Asheville, by David Way  People's Choice 3rd Place - The Knight Howard House, Kinston, by Ann Clark  
  Other 2015 Submissions   
 KATIE'S RIDGE - Retro + Fit Design  FARMHOUSE - in situ studio  WOUNG RESIDENCE - Dialect Design
Katie's Ridge, Weaverville, by Jason Weil Farmhouse, Wake Forest, by Matt Griffith and Erin Sterling Lewis Woung Residence, Charlotte, by Toby Witte and Jahan Nourbakhsh
 CAMDEN - Habitat Improvement  CHAPEL HILL RESIDENCE - RDA Architecture  A HOUSE IN TRILLIUM FOREST - Szostak Design
Camden, Raleigh, by Yolanda Smith Chapel Hill Residence, Chapel Hill, by Ryan Duebber House in Trillium Ridge, Chapel Hill, by Phil Szostak
  STEAMCRUISER - B & O Design Studio  
  Streamcruiser, Wilmington, by Scott Ogden  

The 2015 Matsumoto Prize Jury:

Jeanne Gang of Studio/Gang, Chicago

Eric Gartner of SPG Architects, NYC

Bev Thorne, Oakland
Peter Gluck of GLUCK+, NYC
Harry Bates of Bates Masi, Long Island

George Matsumoto, Honorary Chair, Oakland